Fun with culture shock!

The thing about going someplace new is that you leave another place behind. Here I am moving forward with my new life, making all of these exciting changes. I’m sure my old home in Virginia is changing, too.

Deep thoughts for the Apparel section of Fred Meyer, right? I started down this rabbit hole looking at Underoos. Has there been a continuity of Underoo availability, and I just didn’t notice? Are there Underoos on the East Coast, but in stores I never explored because I knew where everything I wanted was? Here in Oregon, 2,949 miles from my previous address, it’s all new. I’m trying to outfit my new apartment, and Fred Meyer has become my go-to spot. I’m looking for patio furniture and frozen pizza in a place that also sells organic produce and diamond rings. If you’re from here, I’m sure this is all very normal. Me? I wouldn’t be surprised to find that somewhere near the cordless drills there’s a time vortex that opens up to the early 1980s. That would explain the presence on shelves of a product that was trendy 30 years ago. That would also explain why I keep hearing Flock of Seagulls on the radio.

My stuffy East Coast-ness is rapidly wearing off. I’m perfectly content to do things the Oregon way. Especially the green things. It makes perfect sense to buy beverages in reusable containers. I positively adore that I can saunter into my local brewpub and fill up a jug with beer to take home. You all know this is exceptionally cool, right?

A growler of beer

Buying beer in a reusable container makes perfect sense. But nobody does it in Virginia.

This weekend, while I’m riding my bike through the breathtaking scenery that brought me here, I’ll stop somewhere mind-blowing for me and ordinary to natives — perhaps a local vineyard — pick up a postcard and mail it to a friend back East. “The weather is beautiful. Wish you were here. Have you seen the Underoos?”

Fred Meyer was the first store recommended to me by a local. And it was the first thing that made me feel like I was in a different universe. What’s the first thing that struck you as completely different about Yamhill Valley? Tell me about your fish-out-of-water experiences.

About Liz

I'm the editor of Discover Yamhill Valley. I moved here from Virginia, and I'm falling in love with with Oregon. My weekdays are spent writing and editing. This blog is all about my weekends, which I spend adventuring and exploring, either from the back of a bicycle or with a glass of wine in my hand. Or a mug of beer balanced on my head. You never know.
This entry was posted in Living here. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun with culture shock!

  1. Whitney says:

    A good percentage of the public bathrooms in this state have locks that, when locked, say OCCUPIED on the outside of the door. This isn’t a new concept for me. I had seen those bad boys on porta-potties my whole life. But it was a whole new thing to put these locks on stationary bathrooms. Blew my mind! But I totally love it!

Leave a Reply

